Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Birthday, Dr. Patsy!

Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2004
10:31 p.m.
It has been a great day. This morning I had a bubble bath (that�s always my preferred way to start every day), walked to the U., purchased a birthday card in the bookstore, which I surreptiously put on Patsy�s desk as I was leaving Latin class (which was great fun), then I had a quick lunch before playing on the new computer in the part-time music teachers office (it has pinball, hooray!), followed by an intensive practice session, a break for tea and a peanut-butter cookie eaten out on the quad in the company of a very good looking piano student, then I listened to another voice audition and attended my first choir rehearsal in 17 years. The pieces for the November concert are Healey Willan�s Ap0str0phe to the Heavenly H0st and Fanshawe�s African Sanctus. I�ve sung both pieces before, albeit when dinosaurs still roamed the earth, and in the Willan I was in choir I, while Herr Doktor Professor has put me in choir II. This is good. I need these little challenges. I enjoyed a lovely walk home in the gorgeous almost-fall weather, admiring the blue of the sky, the green of the grass and the fact that very few trees have started changing colour.

After making supper for my wee bairns, of which I did not partake, I gussied myself up and drove to N0rth Hatley for Patsy�s surprise birthday dinner at the new restaurant which Hubby and I went to after the piano quartet concert last month. On the way I realized that I had an enormous run in my pantihose and quickly hopped into the d�panneur to buy a new pair, which I donned in the washroom at the restaurant. We ended up being eight at dinner: the birthday girl, Loretta, David and Jill, Dr. M., Willa, Nancy and myself. We had a great time. I�m so glad Willa asked me. Now, if you�ll excuse me, I have Latin homework to do.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>