Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Oh where, oh where has my little horn gone?

Friday, Feb. 12, 2010
11:00 p.m.
Well folks, the good news is that I was spectacular. The bad news is that my horn player had a cold, had taken some drying out medication, and totally dried up during our piece. I didn’t flinch and just kept on singing. In the second half, they only played the first two movements of the Brahms because he couldn’t play that last, virtuosic one. But those first two movements were quite beautiful

However, the pianist says we will do this again, and she is seeking out further venues for us to perform. That’s a good thing. People came up to me afterward and told me how great I sounded. It’s funny, but there was a woman there talking to Hubby who was also at our blues concert. She said that the classical stuff is where I really shine, what I do best. And then there are people who have said exactly the opposite. There is no accounting for taste. At least I can do both.

Now, if only I had more opportunities to do them.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>