Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

So sleepy....zzzzzzz......

Monday, Sept. 13, 2004
10:54 p.m.
Wow, yesterday�s entry sure generated a lot of correspondence. I hope we�ve finally laid it to rest now.

This afternoon I sat through interminable auditions by new students. A Vietnamese girl played Liszt amazingly, and explained that she was only at an �intermediate� level. There were some very promising young singers in the lot. One girl sang O Canada, and another girl started singing the �Haba�era� from Carmen a capella, and it was so terrible that we ended up asking her to sing O Canada. That was fine. Many kids were sick with colds and hoarse from frosh week activities, which involve much drinking of beer and screaming at the top of one�s lungs. There are some more auditions tomorrow, two more singers anyway.

Latin tomorrow morning, and it�s Patsy�s birthday, her 60th, to be exact. Willa has organized a surpise party of sorts, but I would like to have a card to give her after class. Writing group also starts this week, for which I have been pining all summer.

I don�t know why I waited so long to update. I can�t keep my eyes open any longer.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>