Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Fear and loathing, uh, I mean, misery...

Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007
11:03 p.m.
Well boys and girls, I just returned home from a most delightful evening at the theatre, where the drama department presented one of the most depressing plays of all time, especially as in retrospect we know how the story ended. The students in it did a remarkable job, considering their youth and unfamiliarity with the subject matter. I found it moving in a way my son did not. Note to self: Remember to rent the movie Cabaret for him to watch.

When I got home there was a phone message from my husband. I last heard from him this afternoon when he called me from O’Hare to say that his flight from there to San Ant0ni0 had been canceled due to bad weather and he was rescheduled to arrive later tonight, which meant he would miss the lecture he was supposed to give. The message on the machine, left at ten to ten or ten ten (I’m really not sure which as there was a lot of noise at his end of the line and the date and time on our answering machine are never right), informed me that he was still in Chicag0, he had been told that there would be no flights until Friday (which means he would arrive just in time to turn around again and go home), but he met another traveler in the same situation (shades of Planes, Trains and Automobiles), and together they found a different airline and a flight that leaves tomorrow morning at 6 a.m. for H0ust0n, where they will split the cost of a rental car, and drive to San Ant0ni0, arriving at the airport there (to return the car) between 1 and 1:30 p.m.

I was finally able to get a-hold of TK, the composer who had set all this up, to let him know what was going on. He and Hubby had never actually connected, even though Hubby had been leaving him lots of telephone messages. Hopefully it will not be a total waste.

And that’s all the news that’s fit to sing.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>