Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Piston broke? So am I, so am I.

Thursday, Mar. 22, 2007
8:12 p.m.
I need to drink more, or at least more often. I have been leaving incredibly witty and funny comments in peoples’s diaries, and I can only attribute it to the large helping of wine I had at supper. This was a bottle that was given to me at my birthday party, a very nice bottle in fact, of Les Mages: vin de pays du comté T0l0san 2004, from les vignerons du Brulh0is in the Gasc0gne region, which Hubby and I opened the other night and which has been sitting with one glassful (a healthy glassful, mind you) undrunk ever since. I decided it was time I drank it.

In fact, I was celebrating my husband’s safe arrival at long last in San Ant0ni0, after spending the night in the airport--O’Hare, that is--being bumped from the plane that was supposed to take him at 6:00 a.m. (it took his luggage, though, and sagely he kept his guitar with him), calling me in the early afternoon to let me know that he had sweet-talked an American Airlines employee into booking him on a flight that left Chicago just after 2 p.m. and arrived at his Texas destination just after 5 p.m. He and TK are now out drinking, and I hope he gets royally pissed because he really, really deserves it.

I have been suffering the menstrual-cramps-from-hell syndrome, accompanied by the lower back pains to end all lower back pains, and had to stand in an endless choir rehearsal this afternoon (I wish I were post-menopausal already) feeling every twinge and ache. At one point I had to run to the bathroom and re-entered the hall and listened to the choir run through a piece, a Negro spritual in fact (only one member of the choir is of African descent, it would appear), and it struck me that it really is a terrible choir. I know, that’s an awful thing to say, but I’ve always known it, and thought it every year when I used to attend the concerts before I was in it, and then when I listened to the recordings after I joined. So you ask: Why are you in this ensemble then, Elgan, if it is so truly terrible? and I have to respond: Because it’s so darned much fun!

We are gearing up for our big shows at the end of next week, and then a quick in-out to deliver said performance in T0r0nt0 at a high school auditorium. This is all part of Bushop’s attempt to recruit students and increase enrollment, and I have to seriously ask myself if it’s really such a good idea sending this choir off when we sound so utterly horrible. On the other hand, we do have a good time, and that comes through in the performance. The idea is that students at our institution can join the choir, no matter what programme they end up in, and that is a drawing card. To be honest, I am looking foward to getting totally shit faced afterwards. I’ll need it if I’m going to spend three days with my mom afterwards. *sigh*

Tomorrow morning early I take my son to the bus station so he can head off to that fair city. He’s interviewing at Y0rk University for their film programme, and will be staying with his grandmother for two nights. I envy him, just about to embark on his university years. I loved mine so much.

Well, the wine is starting to wear off, so I guess I’m done for now.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>