Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Melodies bring memories that linger in my mind�

Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
9:54 p.m.
Once again I�m a little drunk, this time on hot chocolate with a dash of cointreau, except that it�s wearing off, and I really have to do Latin homework (morphology of the subjunctive) as it�s due tomorrow and it was assigned last Wednesday and I am the worst student ever!

Hubby and I just played through about a quarter of our programme (we have way too much repertoire, which is better than not having enough). We figure we�ll get up there, play for 45 minutes, take a break, then pick up where we left off and play for another 45 minutes, and whatever is next on the list will be our encore. That�s fair, no?

In spite of the fact that we rehearse very badly (i.e. we don�t act like professionals at all but like an old married couple), we�re making some very beautiful music together. Our version of Autumn Leaves is particularly moving, and I really like how we�re doing All of Me. So, we�ll be great, don�t worry.

Mandy cleaned my refrigerator today, the inside this time. It�s so beautiful! Every week she does something else special. I�m very pleased that my friends J and S got me started with her. I also went to hear the final candidate for the classics job, a man this time who has taught for the department part-time in the past. I missed the first part of his talk, unfortunately, because I got the time wrong (it was 10:00 instead of 10:30), but I was really only a few minutes late. He was talking about how Pompei built himself a combination theatre/temple in Rome dedicated to Venus Vintrix as a gesture of gratitude for her divine help in all his military victories, and how political officials used to enlist certain gods as their own personal patrons, or something like that. I actually have no idea what he was talking about because I missed the beginning and I found him to be slightly dull as a speaker. Oh well.

Then I taught a couple of lessons, both technically sopranos, but one with a damaged upper register whose lower range we are trying to develop so that she can pass as a mezzo (today�s piece was �O rest in the L0rd� from Mendelss0hn�s EIijah, and the other to whom I gave her first coloratura piece, an aria by Mozart (Bester J�ngIing) which she is just smitten with. Then choir, then home where Little Princess and her BF were preparing supper.

Und das ist alles.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>