Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m so tired, I haven�t slept a wink.

Monday, Jan. 16, 2006
6:26 p.m.
It was so cold today, at least in contrast to what we experienced for the past few days. I�m really looking forward to sunnier climes.

Remember the sherry I consumed last night? Big mistake. I slept very poorly, if at all, and my back ached and right now I feel as though I have sand in my eyes. I shan�t do that again. Ever.

In Latin this morning I played a recording of a piece Hubby wrote for cello and piano (actually the slow movement of his cello concerto set for that combination) since we are translating the Daedalus and Icarus story from Ovid�s Matam0rphoses, and his piece was inspired by that myth. There were very few people in class, but those who were there liked it very much.

We then adjourned to the larger classroom where the third candidate for the classics job delivered her lecture on liberalitas in Roman poetry and culture, which word can be defined as: generosity, nobility, munificence, a gift, et cetera. It was very good, and I liked this woman when I met her just prior to our class as she was chatting with the slide librarian. Tomorrow is the third and last candidate�s turn up to bat.

My two baritones had their first lessons of the new semester today. The first one is learning an aria from Hubby�s opera for his recital (which he has downgraded from a graduation recital to a third-year half-recital [for which I am incredibly relieved, as I didn�t feel he was ready to do a full recital without first having attempted a half] and he plans to do a special project in composition next year instead of a recital [which is not exactly kosher, since the course he�s in now assumes he will continue in that vein] and will be working with Hubby to that end) and it is proving to be quite a challenge. He still has quite a few technical difficulties and bad habits which are really hard to break.

My other student forgot his music at home over the holidays, and I have ordered him to phone home and have his folks FedEx it to him, but we managed a lesson anyway with him reading the score over my shoulder (Handel�s Where e�er you waIk). I think he may actually have the makings of a half-decent singer in him.

This evening Hubby and I will rehearse, and then I plan on getting to bed early, trying to make up for last night�s sleeping fiasco.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>