Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Let it rain, let it pour, let it rain a whole lot more, �cause I got them Deep River blues.

Sunday, July 18, 2004
9:02 a.m.
Besides the dogs, I believe I am the only one awake in this house. After my niece and grand-niece left yesterday, I had some quiet time to myself, fixed a light dinner and played some more on the computer before my sister-in-law, her sister and her fianc� came over. My brother-in-law had called from Harriston and instructed them to hold back on coming, since it looked like rain. Buffy, the younger of the schnauzers, had also predicted rain. She sat in a corner by the kitchen cupboards, shaking like a leaf, scaring the shit out of me. Pat later told me that she does this when a thunder storm is on its way. Fortunately we only got a bit of rain, and the tremors ceased.

So we never did go to the shindig, but I got to eat another supper with Pat and the others. We had a very pleasant evening together, but I think Tom felt a little left out when the conversation turned to such matters as stretch marks and weight gain from pregnancy. Ah well. I went to bed around 11:30, after my other niece dropped over with her boyfriend, and must have fallen asleep pretty quickly.

I awoke at 3:15 to answer nature�s call and proceeded to lie awake, listening for every car that passed. Finally, at 4 a.m. I heard my brother-in-law�s SUV pull into the driveway and I went downstairs to greet my menfolk. After unloading and putting the gear away, Hubby collapsed into bed, and I lay awake next to him listening to him snore. He is still fast asleep, as is his brother and Buddy Boy. My sister-in-law went out for a walk and just returned as I was writing this.

Today is the big July birthday party, really just an excuse for a family gathering, and there will be 16 people here. I hate these family gatherings just because I can�t stand being surrounded by loads of people. It was different when my kids were little because I was occupied looking after them. But now I experience the desire to escape. I will endeavour to be on my best behaviour.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>