Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

On the road again.

Saturday, July 17, 2004
3:52 p.m.
I am not at home. No, I am in Cambridge, Ontario, in what used to be known as Hespeler, at the home of my brother-in-law. I walked in the door, saw the computer humming quietly to itself on his desk and felt the immediate attraction pulling me. I could not actually wait until I was alone to log in and start checking email. Now I have a schnauzer at my feet as I catch up on my buddy list and write my own first entry in days.

The drive from L�ville to T.O. takes about seven hours if we don�t stop much. Hubby does the first leg of about two and-a-half hours to the McD�nald�s in Dorion, and I do the next stretch of about two hours to the Petr�-Can just past Kingst�n. During my stint of driving, we were inundated by the most incredible rainstorms. The rain would start coming down in buckets and pails, I would have to slow right down, put on the four-ways, and pray no one plowed into us from behind. Amazingly, the big transport trucks just barrelled on through, seemingly oblivious, sending up blinding spray as they passed. The rain squall would end, we�d come out the other end to blue sky and sunshine, only to enter another storm shortly down the road. My whole shift was like that. I was very glad when we stopped for gas and I could go back to being a passenger.

Our musical entertainment for the entire trip were the mixed CDs Hubby had recorded full of the songs he has been learning for this gig. I must admit that I enjoyed them for the most part, but I had to keep turning down the volume, and after seven to eight hours of it just wanted blessed silence.

My mom is not in great shape at the moment. She has an infection in the cornea of her left eye, the legally-blind eye, and is having a great deal of trouble with depth perception. I had to pee as soon as I arrived at her house, and noticed a blue contact lens on the edge of the sink. So I asked her if she was missing a contact lens, and she wanted to know where I had found it. Even when I was pointing right at it (and it was very blue against the white porcelain), she could not see it. I�m sure this is a result of the macular degeneration as much as the other. She had prepared cut-up vegetables for supper and had left a rather unsightly black spot on one of the pieces of green pepper. Fortunately she has a new cleaning lady who did a very nice job, so the place should not get as dirty as it was with the last one.

This is the first trip we have taken without Little Princess. Not only does she have her telemarketing job (she made five sales on Thursday!), but she and her string quartet are playing at a wedding today. (This is the same wedding Vlad is singing at with the Duchess accompanying her in the chapel. I wonder how that went?) I miss her terribly. We just don�t seem to be the family we should be without her. Buddy Boy is just as glad she�s not with us, as it means he gets more room in the back seat. However, it pulls on my maternal heart strings.

Yesterday we were at my in-laws in Guelph and my brother-in-law came over with his bass so that he and Hubby could polish some of the songs for today�s gig. A rather impromptu session took place in their backyard as Buddy Boy got out his guitar, Uncle Al produced his percussion instruments, and a friend of his who plays in his band came over with his Telly. Neighbours from a street away came up to enjoy the music, but the next-door-neighbour asked when it was going to end.

I made the decision not to go to this gig, citing PMS as my excuse. From what I understand, it will be loud and late, and I am not up for either. I also don�t feel like being stranded in the country dependent on someone else for a ride. So I am looking forward to a quiet evening alone at my brother-in-law�s while everyone is at this party. I was hoping for some peace and quiet right now, but my nephew�s wife and daughter are here using the pool and my nephew just arrived. I am also expecting my sister-in-law to arrive at some point before she and her sister and brother-in-law head up to the shindig.

There is more to write, but I shall save it for another chance at the magic box later.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>