Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I must be dreaming.

Thursday, Aug. 31, 2006
9:20 a.m.
Two bizarre things happened last night, one was real and one was not, although during the night I could have sworn that they were both facts. I was awakened by the phone ringing at about 4 a.m. and a francophone asking me "allo?" until I finally hung up on him. The phone rang again and it was my dear friend hissandtell calling all the way from Melbourne asking about my niece, the one who is in neurosciences. She knew her name, which I have never mentioned here, and I finally had to tell her that I couldn't talk, I was trying to sleep, it was 4:30 a.m., and she said, "Oh, but it's 1:30 p.m. here."

It wasn't until I woke this morning that I realized that at least one of those phone calls had been a dream. I just verified with my husband that the phone did ring, so it must have been the first guy with the wrong number (or else he was just randomly dialing out of sheer boredom caused by insomnia). Very strange.

After I posted yesterday's entry wherein I was looking longingly at the beautiful weather outside, my son asked me for a ride to school so that I could pay for some more textbooks at the bookstore. I absolutely jumped at the opportunity to get out of the house, and after he made use of my purchasing power and left me to go to his 4:30 rugby practise, I wandered around in the sunshine on campus before sneaking into the physics lab and surprising my daughter as she worked on the new website for the observatory that Bushop's has just installed. When it's up and running I'll link to it so you can see her handiwork for yourselves.

Other than that and a horrible bout of gut-wrenching diarrhea preceded by the worst case of abdominal gas imaginable, there's absolutely nothing new.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>