Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

If I had possession over Judgement Day�

Friday, Sept. 9, 2005
7:07 p.m.
Yesterday I found this letter in my teacher�s mailbox:

Dear Elgan:

I know my decision to change instructors has come as a shock. I am sorry I could not speak with you personally last semester. Please understand that I did not make this choice with intentions to hurt you. I made this change with the intentions of placing myself in a more neutral environment and to try new techniques and explore as a student. I enjoyed our time together truly, and I am thankful for what you have given me. I hope that we can continue as friends and musicians.

Stxxxxxie

When I showed it to Hubby, he laughed at the last bit, wondering if she was putting herself on an equal footing with me in the performing department. I don�t think she meant that at all, she just wanted to ensure there would be no problems with our interacting in choir.

Today after the beginning-of-the-year meeting of music students she came over to me, we hugged, I said it was all right, I understood perfectly her reasons for wanting to change, and that I hoped she would have a grand time with the other teacher. I also noticed that she has got herself on the student�s council, is now hanging out with the �cool� crowd, and her decision to change teachers may have been in response to the fact that the professor the cool crowd all adore is the one who hates me. Am I reading too much into this? Anyway, there appear to be no hard feelings.

On the other hand, the student who gave me the bad evaluation came to Hubby (who is chair of the department, remember) and said she wants to continue taking singing lessons without specifiying with whom (this would be for credit). She�s presently in the school of education. He assumed that she wanted to study with me, but her pursuit of singing excellence depends on the funds available for that type of thing within the department. I finally showed him the comments she filled in on my evaluation, and he decided that he would just tell her no. Rereading them, I realized how horrible they really are, even though they don�t hurt me anymore.

We have some promising candidates entering the programme this fall, one 19-year-old from Mexico who plays piano like a mad elf and composes very well too. The profs were extremely impressed. I will not know how many students I have for a while yet, although I do have two returnees who seem keen to get started. That�s a vindication of my abilities. Oh, and chat is back.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>