Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

How long, how long has that evening train been gone?

Thursday, Sept. 8, 2005
8:56 p.m.
Now that I finally have the keys under my fingers, after spending the whole day visualizing my diary entry, I can�t think of how to begin. The day began beautifully, warm, sunny. Little Princess and I walked as far as the university together, she to take a class and I to proceed on to the post office to mail a package. The day before she had lost one of her earrings, a silver dreamcatcher (I got them for her at the Canadian Museum of CiviIization in HuII) taking off her sweatshirt while walking home from school and we retraced her steps, but didn�t find it. The day before that she lost the black corduroy jacket I got her, with the silver brooch of wild horses on the lapel, when she left it somewhere on campus. It hasn�t shown up at any of the lost-and-founds. This morning one of her glasses (a friend of hers gave her a gift box of Bailey�s Irish Cream with two decorative glasses) got broken in the dishwasher, so it hasn�t been a great few days for her. I�m a little irked, since all the things she�s losing are things I�ve given her, and the jacket was being worn for the first time yet. But this is the real world.

At the post office the guy behind the desk out and out flirted with me, commenting on how young and beautiful I was. That does wonders for my ego. At the healthfood store I bought a box of fresh dates (sort of fresh, that is) which are delicious. I also put in a request for a particular lemon pepper that I adore, but can�t fine anywhere else and can�t seem to order online because the companies that stock it don�t ship to Canada. Bummer. The store owner said she�d try to order it for me.

Then I returned via the university bookstore where I purchased Cattus petasatus which we will be translating into English in Latin class. Then homewards for lunch and a nap.

I returned to the university for choir practice at 4:00 with enough time to renew the parking sticker for the Subaru. We did no singing, just got our music and a pep talk, then were shooed out the door so that the new members could audition. I was standing in the lobby of the music department with my daughter and the members of her band, who have all joined the choir and become music minors in fact, and was really rather enjoying being surrounded by all these young people whom I like a lot when it occured to me that in three years they will all have graduated and gone off elsewhere. That sobered me somewhat. We drove home in rain.

After supper tonight Hubby and I rehearsed some of the blues songs for our November concert and I think I can do this. It will be interesting to see what the different styles do to my voice. In October I�m singing the Gorecki Symphony No. 3 in an arrangement for two organs, which requires a totally different sound. I love that piece. I have a lot of practising ahead of me.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>