Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Go for the gold!

Saturday, Sept. 10, 2005
9:11 p.m.
I had so much at lunch today that I thought I would never want to eat again. It never works that way though. I picked Patsy up and dropped Hubby off (we�re back to one car again) so he could get his lily-white ass whupped in the tennis tournament he somehow got sucked into entering, and we girls registered for this term�s belly dancing class (Mondays again at 5:00, like last year), then adjourned to Antiquarius for lunch, where we sat in the sunshine on the sidewalk, enjoying our panninis and mineral water, and o.d.ing on overly rich desserts. I could not finish my chocolate praline cake, a slice that was obviously meant to feed my entire family and some of the neighbours besides, but heroically downed everything else, including two cups (not real cups) of insipid tea (when will they learn to make it properly?). To my surprise and delight, Patsy paid for lunch, saying that she owed me for all the times I had driven her to belly dancing, and she also presented me with a jangly ankle bracelet her sister picked up in London. It�s charming, just the right size, and jingles when I walk.

We then waddled over to a newish clothing store called ejust whose mandate is to provide at competitive prices to the public clothing made in third-world countries not produced in sweatshops, but acquired with a fair trade policy. The fabrics are all natural, and the buttons themselves are made from fun materials like moss agate (much better than yucky, petroleum-derived plastic) and I had absolutely no intention of buying anything. There wasn�t much merchandise on the racks, this being the end of summer and their fall stuff hadn�t yet arrived, but lo, there was a gold evening dress made from a silk-hemp blend in my size, on sale, which I simply had to try on. So I did.

It is sleeveless, with a plunging V-neck, gathered bodice, and the rest cut on the bias. At first my bra was showing and both Patsy and Natalie, the owner, told me to take it off, which I was loath to do, warning them both that I would look like a cafeteria lady if I did. But, throwing caution to the wind, I removed the offending garment, and the result was practically obscene, until Natalie suggested that I could take up the shoulders a wee bit, perhaps an inch, and when I did that, grasping the extra material between my thumbs and forefingers, the dress did in fact look fantabulous on me. Seriously folks. It is the perfect dress for me to wear at our blues concert. I just need to accessorize it appropriately. Oh, and shorten it. As always. Did I mention it was on sale? The silk-hemp blend is also amazing, as it has the sheen of silk, but the solidity of the other, and it can be hand washed and hung to dry. I bought it. Badda boom.

Patsy did not come away emptyhanded either, but got herself a pair of trousers, this time a yak-hemp blend, which look very good on her and were also reduced for quick sale. I like this store. I like the owner. You can bet your booties I�ll return there.

After this we were supposed to go fabric shopping for curtain material, but Patsy said she hadn�t measured her windows and was too tired. So I took her home, where she showed me her garden, freshly dug and planted with day lilies, periwinkle and other lovely things, and then I hied myself home to my Hubby who had got a lift back from the tennis court (the cell phone rang when we were in the clothing store, and I veritably freaked out because I never know what it is) after having his lily-white ass veritably whupped, showed him my new acquisitions, then trundled off to bed where I slept, the parasympathetic nervous system having finally done me in.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>