Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine, laundry and other banalities.

Tuesday, Aug. 5, 2008
9:24 p.m.
It did not rain today, so I took advantage of the sunshine to wash and hang out two loads of laundry. My life is so exciting. I also walked into town this morning to pick up some things at the pharmacy and health food store, one of them being gingko biloba capsules. They’re supposed to help with memory. We shall see.

I sent the following email to my brother today with a bcc to my big brother. I haven’t yet received an answer from the former, although the latter wrote to say he hadn’t been able to get a-hold of the former, thinking maybe he is away on holiday.

Dear Bro:

Thank you for all the time and energy you have put into arranging for Mummy to move into the retirement home, and for everything you do for her on a regular basis. I want to contribute somehow and I would like to be there to “distract” Mummy on the day of the move and to keep her occupied and out of your hair. I want to make sure that you are comfortable with this idea and have no objections to my presence.

Love,

El


I suppose that’s all I really can do. I spoke to my mom on the phone about this very thing, and she’s all mixed up again. I just hope the people at the home don’t suddenly feel that she’s too confused to be living in their residence and should be in some place for patients with dementia. The move is a week today.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>