Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Dialogue and lack thereof.

Monday, Aug. 4, 2008
8:46 p.m.
My mother moves into her new home on August 12 and I have spoken to my older brother, although not the younger who is in charge of the actual move, about the possibility of my being there to keep my mom occupied and out of the way when all the heavy lifting happens. I want to communicate with my brother, but his rebuffs of my previous attempts have discouraged me. So I’m not quite sure what to do.

I called her tonight to ask what she thought, and she had forgotten, again, that she was moving at all. Every conversation we have I am telling her stuff she doesn’t remember. Tonight she was trying to tell me about an excursion she went on yesterday with a friend of hers, and couldn’t remember the names of streets or places or people. But she had a marvelous time anyway. So I guess that’s all right.

Both Little Princess and Buddy Boy accompanied me to Costco today and I spent more than I ever have at one time. My daughter owes me for an external hard drive and my son loaded up on junk food. I had forgotten how much he eats.

There has been so much rain that all the rivers are swollen. There have even been some drownings reported in the paper.

Okay, I have absolutely nothing else to say here. Over and out.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>