Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The bald soprano always wears her hair in the same style.

Friday, Aug. 5, 2005
10:31 p.m.
I have just returned from an evening at the theatre, the studio theatre, in fact, where a group of young people put on a couple of dramatic presentations, the first being a reading of WiIIiam Blake�s The Marriage of Heaven and HeII and the second The BaId S0prano by Eug�ne I0nesc0. They were both very funny, although I don't think the former was intended that way by the author. Blake had a very jaded view of the church and religion in general, and I am now inspired to find a copy of this text and read it at my leisure. There were some rather �devout� Christians in the audience that I knew of, one of them a retired United Church minister. I wonder how they took it.

The I0nesc0 was very well done. I was laughing so hard that at one point I had tears pouring down my cheeks. I remember studying this play in high school, but of course I remembered very little of it. What was especially amusing was the casting of a man, a bearded man yet, in the role of Mrs. Martin, and at one point Mr. and Mrs. Martin were making out with fervour while the dialogue continued around them. It was absolutely uproarious. Three of the male cast members were friends of Little Princess, including her former boyfriend, the young man who played the clock was none other than my erstwhile student (the anarchist who still calls me �Mom�), and I do not know the two young women, but they did an excellent job. I�m really glad I went. Now, if only I had been invited to the party afterwards�

I finished the horns today, got a load of laundry washed and hung out, and the chimney sweeps came and cleaned out the soot and creosote from our flu. I lead such an exciting life.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>