Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

One elephant said to the other elephant while they were taking a bath, �Please pass the soap,� and the other elephant answered, �There�s no soap, radio!�

Thursday, Aug. 4, 2005
7:13 p.m.
I just lost my cool in front of a guest. Okay, maybe Little Princess� boyfriend is not really a guest anymore, but I did raise my voice. It happened like this:

Hubby acquired today from the university ITS department, in the form of grease for his squeaky wheel, a G4 iBook. This is actually quite an accomplishment. The university has been extremely Macintosh unfriendly since they became computerized, pushing PCs onto the faculty and staff, regardless of their personal and professional leanings. Certain profs have become very vocal of late, demanding IT help for their Macs, and since the long-time head of the ITS retired a few months ago, things have been easing up. They are now in the process of training a Mac technician to service Macs on campus (and there are quite a few, especially in the fine arts department where they are used for graphic designing and the computer music studio where they are used for electronic composition) and things are definitely looking up.

In the past, the university would automatically upgrade the faculty and staff�s computers, but they were always given new PCs. My husband has a sexy black IBM machine in his office which he has never used. It just takes up a lot of his desk space. But if a prof wanted a new Mac, he would have to buy it himself. Now, after complaining long and loudly, my husband came home with this brand-spanking-new iBook, and proceeded to have a shit fit because the operating system was all in French. I helped him reformat it through the system preferences hierarchy, and, except for the exterior keyboard which is still in French, the software now appears in American English.

So, he discovered iTunes, as everyone eventually does, and lo! it is devoid of downloaded music. It does, however, have a radio feature, and he found a radio station which played music of his liking as I was trying to get the family (plus Little Princess� boyfriend) seated and fed. I asked him to please turn it off. He countered with, �It�s just the radio.� I said, �I would prefer that you not have it playing during supper,� and he said something to the effect that we always listened to the radio during supper at one time. I lost my cool, raised my voice and said very loudly and exasperatedly, �There is no need to have music playing through those tinny speakers when we have an excellent stereo system in the living room if you want to listen to music during supper.� I think everyone was a little shocked that I would shout when a guest was present. I was a little suprised myself, since I usually have my party manners on when the boyfriend is here. I guess it means that I have accepted him as part of the family.

Anyway, everything was cool after that. I must have PMS with a vengeance. I have no other excuse.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>