Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Steve Irwin died today.

Monday, Sept. 4, 2006
8:43 p.m.
We watched a very dark comedy last night, Big White, starring R0bin WiIIiams and H0IIy Hunter, and I had a small quantity of rum to accompany the viewing which, unfortunately caused me a bit of insomnia when it was beddy-bye time. I read a bit, telling my husband I would turn out the light and go to sleep after I'd finished a chapter, but once I did so, I still was unable to sleep. I didn't even feel tired. So, instead of turning the light back on and waking my now snoring husband, I slid out from under the covers and went downstairs where I logged into the chatroom, and started having a disucssion with two 17-year-old girls about books that had been turned into movies.

As I was sitting there, I heard Hubby come downstairs. He asked me what I was doing out of bed, and I told him that I couldn't sleep, that I didn't want to wake him by turning on the light, so I decided to play on the internet for a while. He got very angry with me, accused me of lying, thinking that I was having some kind of illicit tryst with some internet lover (all of which he knows is ridiculous, I don't know what got into him), and so I said goodnight to the people online, turned off the computer and got back into bed, but was still unable to sleep. So I turned the light back on, and read my book. I really have no idea how much actual shut-eye I got.

As a result, I was very tired today. Kevin O and his girlfriend invited us over this afternoon, so I managed a nap before we left, and we had a really fun time. We drank wine, ate food, played music, laughed uproariously, made jokes, and talked like pirates. To be honest, I think my husband is under a lot of stress. So, I'm going to hit the "done!" button and go and keep him company.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>