Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

My eyes hurt.

Tuesday, Sept. 5, 2006
7:46 p.m.
Even though the day started out optimistically enough, I have somehow managed to drag myself into depression. I walked to the university to deliver music scores to my husband which he had forgotten behind when he left in a big hurry early this morning. The students are returning--classes begin tomorrow, so it's to be expected--and I got to say hi to a couple of them (my clarinettist from last year who most likely won't be taking voice as a second instrument) and another voice student (not mine, but her sister was several years back) who actually gave me a big hug, which rather surprised me. I also saw several profs, and everyone seems rather excited about starting a new semester.

However, this afternoon I became very sleepy and took a nap, but I had so many weird dreams, none of which I can remember but which left a strange residue in my conscious mind, that I didn't really feel rested afterwards.

One bit of good news was revealed at the dinner table: the student I thought was going to bible college in Texas is on my husband's 2nd-year theory class list, which means that (fingers crossed) she will be taking lessons with me again this year. This girl has more natural talent than any other student we've had.

Okay, Hubby and I are having our first read-through tonight of some of the blues songs. I practised them this afternoon (after the Mozart, of course, which is coming along, but is still not up to snuff, something about my upper break is driving me nuts) but I don't really feel like I know them yet. Once we put them together with the guitar part, though, I'm sure I'll feel more confident.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>