Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Get that goddamned vice off my temples!

Sunday, Sept. 3, 2006
4:44 p.m.
I write this from the wrong side of a headache, aspirins consumed but not yet doing their job. This is my second attempt at dislodging the little man in my skull who is using a large sledge hammer to make my life miserable. I'm also suffering rather severely from seasonal allergies, and the antihistamine I took this morning (along with the first set of aspirins) has only made them bearable, not gone.

Little Princess and I went out west today, that is we travelled to Costco and the mall, where we spent mucho dineros on various and sundry, including dill pickles (which we needed) and a new pair of faux suede books (which I did not). However, these new boots are gorgeous on me, knee high, black, high heels, gently rounded toes. I misunderstood the guy when I was quoted the price and ended up not getting the bargain I thought I was, but they were so incredible I just had to get them. The expression "like a hole in the head" comes to mind. They were having a BUY ONE, GET THE SECOND ITEM HALF PRICE special and Little Princess looked long and hard for a pair of footwear so that we could take advantage of it, but my darling daughter is a little chunky, and all the boots she liked would not do up around her generous calves. Which is a shame. We also bought a bag of assorted gourmet jelly beans at the candy store, and I replenished my supply of foaming bath gel (more commonly known as "bubble bath"), and we had lunch.

The mall was very crowded, seeing as tomorrow is a holiday and mothers and daughters were doing the back-to-school thing at tcklyrpharsn's favourite clothing store. Little Princess was very anxious to get out of there. She described the feeling as drowning, being surrounded by crowds of tall people who are swirling and eddying around us, either pulling us along at speeds we cannot manage or moving so slowly we feel mired in quicksand. I too was grateful to get outside. By this time the headache (she had one too) was back full force.

Instead of going straight home, we stopped at the UpIands museum where a vernissage was in progress. My neighbour Lucy, the potter, and her sister Mary, a painter, were having a joint show in memory of and as homage to their mother who died last March. I met a friend I hadn't seen in literally a dog's age, the wife of a sociology prof who had moved to the big city 10 years ago, who was once a neighbour of ours when we lived on campus, and who I used to hang out with all the time. I also met other people I know but rarely see, one of the reasons I like going to these events.

The art work was of course very nice. Mary is an amazing painter, and Lucy is doing some new work that is very appealing. Unfortunately, I have been placed under a moratorium where pottery acquisition is concerned. Sigh.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>