Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No time

Thursday, Oct. 4, 2007
11:28 p.m.
Time is definitely not on my side, no it’s not. First, I screwed up the grandfather clock somehow, accidentally lifting the pendulum out of its hook and when I replaced it the clock doesn’t tick the way it should, and then just stops. I guess I’ll have to call the clocksmith when we get back from our weekend adventure. I also tried to replace my husband’s defunct watchband with a different one, but it doesn’t fit. So that’s not going to happen either.

The morning was spent copying out a new tune that Hubby wrote for his jazz trio. I had planned to shop for kitchen stuff for Buddy Boy, but ended up taking the car to the university instead of walking in the glorious sunshine because I was running late. My second student didn’t show up and I finally thought to check my email, whereupon I found a message from her that she wouldn’t be at her lesson. She was in choir, though, and I met her mother, also in choir, whose fault it was that she had missed. I explained that if there was time at the end of the term to make it up, I would, otherwise it was gone, and that she has to give me enough notice (i.e. the night before or that morning) so that I’m not just wasting my time waiting for her. That’s fair, right?

Herr Doktor Professor was not in choir, nor was his trusty assistant conductor whose meriting of that title I find suspect, so one of our own took the rehearsal, and she got a lot more done more efficiently than usual.

My hair is freshly dyed (no more gray roots) and I need to pack my bag for our journey tomorrow. When I get back, I shall no doubt have stories to tell. Stay tuned.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>