Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The flying fur drifts by my nostrils...

Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2007
10:57 p.m.
The grandfather clock is causing me grief. In an attempt to reattach the brass plate to the pendulum (it’s merely decorative, but I felt it was time to put it back on), I accidentally lifted out the whole pendulum mechanism and the clock started ticking away like a runaway freight train. In order to get the mechanism back in place, I had to lift off the top of the case while standing on the end table, the pendulum between my legs. I got it in place, but it is twisted and I have to remove it again and do some fiddling before it hangs right. All this for a clock that refuses to keep correct time.

I think my students like me. The German exchange student is really blessed with a beautiful voice and appreciates my cerebral approach to the teaching of singing. My young bass/baritone (he’s only 19, for pity’s sake) said he would miss my smiling face until his next lesson. I hope he’s not developing a crush on me. I really don’t need that. So far they are all eager and willing to learn and do things that may be different from what they did before. That’s asking a lot from singers, so I count myself lucky here.

Writing group was held at the home of one of our number, since Janice is off tomorrow to be the mother-of-the-bride at her daughter’s wedding in Ontario on Saturday. It’s the weekend for weddings, it seems. The mood was very different in Marjorie’s living room, as opposed to the ambience of the used-book store, and there were only five of us in total, so we actually got four writes done instead of the usual three. I was happy to leave, however, as Ginger, the very fluffy and aged cat that makes her home there was starting to cause me respiratory distress. I like kitties, but their dander does not like me.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>