Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Long day, not over yet.

Thursday, Feb. 3, 2005
7:38 p.m.
I have a long night of music copying ahead, so I figured I would update now since nothing of any interest is bound to happen later. I am starting to feel the crunch. Hubby has almost finished his symphony, the one to be premiered in April, and I am incredibly far behind in the copying. As soon as he puts on the double barline, he will start proofreading the stuff I already printed out (a sizeable chunk, don�t knock it) and then demand the rest which is not yet ready! Since this all has to be finished before we go away for our vacation to warmer climes at March break, I must tear myself away from my beloved internet and spend more time inputting musical notation at my dinosaur computer. Yesterday I spent so much time at the Quadra that I totally forgot to do my Latin homework and ended up doing it this morning before going to class.

I walked into the part-time music teachers� office today and almost hit Kevin O in the face with the door, and was then introduced to the artist in residence, who will be giving a concert tomorrow night. He is a really nice guy. He�s been here for a couple of days, giving lessons and masterclasses, and apparently giving more of himself than was originally contracted for. Instead of half-hour lessons, he was giving one-and-a-half hour lessons, which is insane.

We were introduced to �this� and �that� in Latin this morning, and while I�ve completely forgotten the pronouns for the latter, I do remember hic, haec, hoc. More studying is called for, I guess. Laurel�s and my translation of the wombat story proceeds apace. The Latin for �scratch� is perfricare. How interesting, n�est-ce pas?

I have been given a solo in the choir concert. Yay me! I didn�t particularly ask for one; I just told Jamie that if, in his wisdom, he wanted to give me something, I would be glad to sing it. So, I am sharing �Time in a B0ttle� by Jim Cr0ce with my student Elizabeth. I�m going to have to find a way to split this one equitably with her; it�s not fair that I should get the lion�s share.

Finally, while it has been there for quite a while and I have received no comments, I thought I would bring to your attention that I have added two links to my page, both courtesty of darkomen, under the �credits and more links� column. One of them is his creation, the People�s Republic of Diaryland Times, and the other is an MP3 he is hosting of me singing a piece by my husband, text by a former East Timor refugee, which is on a CD my brother-in-law compiled to raise money and awareness for the plight of that country when it was under the domination of Indonesia. So, feel free to enjoy both offerings.

P.S. It would now appear that the �Tim0r from Overseas� link is no longer working. Oh well. We can�t have it all.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>