Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m such a bad monkey!

Friday, Feb. 4, 2005
11:01 a.m.
It is early in the day for me to be updating, which means there may be another entry later on, but this morning has been an adventure all in itself and I felt I had to get it down on paper (so to speak).

The Musica N0va concert is tomorrow night, and a couple of our musicians are coming from Montreal, including the violist, a beautiful and talented Russian emigr�e who is playing in Hubby�s quartet. We are putting this lady up overnight so she can get a ride back to the big city on Sunday morning with the flutist. This means that I had to vacuum and dust the guest bedroom, make the bed, and clean the bathroom. It also means that I have to clean the main floor of the house because it is a pig stye and I cannot have a guest forced to eat breakfast in an animal enclosure.

While tidying up in the kitchen, I found an envelope containing the renewal for my driver�s licence, an item which was supposed to be paid on my birthday, January 23, approximately two weeks ago. Suddenly my heart started to beat faster and I began to shake, clear indications of panic. What to do? Luckily I remembered that there is a SAAQ office at the CAA in Sherbrooke, so I drove myself out there, ever vigilant for cops, obeying all speed limits and stop signs (I didn�t see a single police car), stood in line for 15 minutes, and paid my bill, with a late fee of $3.00. I then got back in the car, legally this time, and drove back towards home, stopping at the bank and then at the university print shop to pick up the programmes and tickets for tomorrow night�s concert.

Upon entering the house, I realized I still had to clean the downstairs, nearly tripping over the vacuum cleaner which I left lying in the hallway. But the music copying calls out with urgency, and the cleaning will have to wait until I�ve laid a few more pages to rest.


from zitagsd :

Feb 5/05 - Hey bad monkey - That reminds me of last november, when I totally ignored the letter from the insurance agency, and was driving my car for 2 weeks without insurance! I only discovered it when I was in line for the yearly car-test, and realized that the only insurance form I had was two weeks expired! Boy, did I drive carefully back to the house! And boy, was I lucky that in those two weeks nothing awful happened while anyone was driving!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>