Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

My entry of yesterday explained.

Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2005
3:10 p.m.
It occurs to me that I made a mistake while answering that meme yesterday. The last CD I bought was not King Crimson for my husband, but a copy of the concert the choir put on last December. It is still in my knapsack, three weeks later, unopened; and this brings me to today�s topic.

harri3tspy passed the �schtick� on to me because she was curious to know what music I listened to for �fun�. I am a professional musician, a practising musician, one who goes off to work and listens to students sing, and comes home and copies music on the computer. I rehearse with other musicians, I go to (on average) one live music concert a week (mostly serious concert music, but also jazz), I rehearse with the choir twice a week, and when I am at home I hear my husband either practising guitar (both electric and classical) or composing on his electronic keyboard, or I hear my son practise his guitar (most often electric, occasionally accoustic) and (rarely) my daughter practising violin. The only time I listen to recorded music is when I am in the car where I have the radio tuned to the classical network of the CBC (that�s Canadian Br0adcasting C0rporation if you didn�t know). Today, driving from Costco to Provigo I heard a good 20 minutes of Mahler�s second symphony, The Resurrection, and I even sat in the supermarket parking lot so I could hear the choir come in. However, I turned it off when the two female soloists began their duet because they simply were not up to my high standard of classical music performance!

For long trips in the car, we will load up the CD changer with my husband�s music: Santana, Led Zeppelin, Eric Clapton, et cetera. He has several mix CDs he recorded last year when he was learning tunes to play with his brother at their biker barbecue gig, and those come along too. I like all that music. But, as you can tell, I do not actively pursue the purchase and playing of CDs. Even my LP collection is exceedingly sparse, consisting of Brahms Symphony No. 1, late Beethoven string quartets, Mahler Symphony No. 1 and Vivaldi mandolin concertos. I�m sure I have other stuff, but you get the point. A music student lent me a CD a couple of weeks ago of a soprano he admires since I had expressed an interest at some party we were at, and I have yet to crack it open.

So, as you can see, when I am not actively doing music, I prefer silence, blessed silence.


from time2 :

If only you could get those voices in your head to shut up, right?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>