Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Tabernacle!

Monday, Jan. 30, 2006
10:36 p.m.
�Twas a Monday like all other Mondays. I rose, I bathed, I went to the university and attended Latin class where we continued in our discussion of the subjunctive and started translating Ovid�s Pygmalion. I lunched with my young male friends who found themselves without a musical skills class to go to due to illness on the teacher�s part (I�m not complaining, I�m tired of eating alone), then changed hats and taught my two baritones. Somewhere along the way, unbeknownst to me, I pulled or pinched or somehow caused a muscle to spasm in my back near my right shoulder blade, and I have been in excruciating discomfort all day. I still went to belly dancing where Lise tried to teach us an enchainement which I kept screwing up. She allowed the three older ladies in the class (myself included) to perform pivots instead of pirouettes, since we were all complaining of dizziness, even �spotting� as we were told to do. I thought that maybe the exercise would work out the knot in my back, but alas it did not.

Upon returning home I found that my boys had left me a salad and a bowl with a package of ramen noodles sitting on it. I got the hint, boiled some water and made myself soup, which I gobbled down very quickly and headed out yet again to see Night B of the student plays. It was good. There was a play about a couple whose cat dies, and the man becomes the cat, if only for long enough to totally freak out his wife. There was another that I thought was particularly good, two young men spending their last night together before one heads off to college, drinking beer in a farmer�s corn field, set in the late 1960s. There was also a version of The Paper Bag Princess. I enjoyed it.

On my way off campus, a car turned left in front of me with non-Quebec vanity plates. We don�t have vanity plates here. This one said TABRNAK on it. I thought it was uproariously funny, and only a couple of you will also think that. I even know who you are.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>