Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Fast away the old month passeth�

Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2006
10:55 p.m.
The last day of January. I was assured that February 1 marks the end of the hump of winter. I have no idea what that means. At least the days are getting longer, that�s a measurable improvement.

I love my cleaning lady, I hate the fact that she smells like a used ashtray. I love that my house is all fresh and clean after she�s left, but that the closet where she hung her jacket stinks like a smelly bar. I don�t know what to do about this. I suspect there is nothing I can do. I�m not going to ask her not hang her jacket in the closet. My only recourse is to spray Febreeze in there after she�s gone, but today even that had little effect. This is one of those situations where there is no solution, I suspect.

The solos were posted today for the spring choir concert. I�ve got my spot, the aria from La Wally that was so prominent in the movie Diva. It comes second on the programme, right after �Oh Fortuna� from Carmina Burana. The question on everyone�s mind is: Do I sing the Orff or do I lip sync? My annoying student did not get a solo, even after I helped her prepare for her audition last week during her lesson. She apologized to me after choir, actually apologized, for wasting my time. I assured her that the time was not wasted. What I didn�t say was that my time was not wasted, hers was. We could have been working on repertoire instead of a stupid line from the broadway show Rent. I still got paid, but she basically threw away a lesson. Oh well. In my own view, I still taught her something about voice production.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>