Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Semper ubi sub ubi.

Sunday, Jan. 29, 2006
11:40 p.m.
I did in fact convince my daughter to come skating with me where we joined her boyfriend, already in progress, so to speak, doing his laps on the sparsely populated rink. He was still hungover from sharing a 12-pack with one of his friends (whom I noticed was not there), and ended up benefitting from the extra-strength acetaminophen I always carry in my purse. We actually skated for less than an hour. Little Princess was experiencing hurting feet and ankles (I think her skates, which she got secondhand, don�t fit her properly and we really ought to take her shopping for ones that do) so she ended up sitting out the last 15 minutes or so while her BF and I got some more exercise dodging sprawling children and clumps of slower skaters. It was very crowded by the time we left. It was also really cold inside the arena in comparison to the above-freezing temperatures outside. I wore an Icelandic sweater (which I made years ago and rarely wear because it�s too warm) over my turtleneck, and I was chilly.

As a reward for our exertions, I treated the kids to refreshments at Java. When I was paying at the counter, there was a young man behind me with a guitar on his back in a case, and I could not resist asking him, �Electric or acoustic?� The reply was �acoustic�. I then said, after a beat, �Boxers or jockeys?� The young man thought for a moment, then answered �neither�, which caused me to burst out laughing and say something about that episode of Seinfeld where Kramer goes commando. Then the guy actually admitted that he was wearing boxers. I have to admit, I really don�t have any qualms about saying the strangest things to strangers.

Tonight after supper Hubby, Buddy Boy and I watched The Br0thers Grimm. It was good, a little horrific and gruesome in places, but also very funny and the horror was always a little tongue in cheek. There was also a preview for Wedding Crashers on the DVD. Everytime we�ve been to the video store it�s been out. Soon, my preciousssss, soon�

|

<~~~ * ~~~>