Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Fast away the old year passes

Friday, Dec. 31, 2004
12:35 a.m.
I was just about to head off to bed and realized that I hadn�t updated yet. Now I�m staring at the flashing cursor, thinking that I have nothing to say. But I do have stuff to say, there�s just the matter of dredging it up from the depths of my brain where all the murk settles at the end of the day.

Firstly, thanks for all the notes and concern about my friend in Thailand. She, her conjoint and his parents are safe and I am much relieved. But the death toll continues to climb and I cannot but be overwhelmed by this tragedy and the loss of life and loved ones to other friends and families.

The last King Crimson CD arrived today, which made Hubby very happy. He went off to his buddy�s house (the wife and daughter have gone to Cuba for two weeks, leaving him alone to misbehave as he wills) with his guitar and amp and engaged in a jam session which also included Little Princess and Buddy Boy�s high school biology teacher. I gave up waiting for him to call (I kept getting the answering machine when I tried) and we had supper without him. He ended up getting a ride home from the biology teacher at about 8 p.m. and had to eat a warmed over supper by his lonesome, since I was already at the party in the chatroom. This is a disease, I tell you. However, I made a new friend tonight, as well as an enemy or two.

The weather outside is frightful, the fire has been delightful, but the weatherman assures us that the temperature is rising, with a prediction of freezing rain and a high of 6�C tomorrow. That is quite the contrast from today�s -10. I got the car washed and refilled the window washer fluid reservoir, and it positively steamed when I parked at the V�g�tarian to buy some apples and yogurt. I barbecued trout on the deck, and froze my hands uncovering and then recovering the grill. Yet, with all my abhorence of winter, there are definite advantages to living in a climate where we don�t have poisonous snakes or spiders, the cockroaches only grow to be an inch long at the largest, and we don�t have virulent infectious diseases other than the occasional bout of flu. Just dress warmly, sit by the fire with a hot toddy, and life is good.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>