Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Minnie Me

Tuesday, May 2, 2006
3:03 p.m.
I had found a solution to the problem of my iMac�s startup problems (wherein the screen goes weird and it takes several actual turn ons before it acts normal, whereupon it proceeds to act normal until it either wakes up from being asleep, or is started up again after being turned off) which was pure genius, I thought. We just don�t turn it off or let it go to sleep. Period. So far there hasn�t been any problem, no overheating, no sticky RAM buildup. But the inevitable happened today (I do live in the province of Quebec, remember, one of the largest producers of hydro-electric power anywhere): We had a power failure. There I was in the middle of a civilized game of spider solitaire when *POOF!* everything went black (well, the screen that is, considering it was early afternoon) and quiet and that was that. Just now, after a little rest and driving Little Princess to the university (it�s raining, you don�t expect me to make her walk, do you?) I turned on the computer and lo! it took six, count �em, six, tries before it didn�t fritz. I really have to take it into the shop. I really don�t want to do this.

Little Princess deigned to come shopping with me this morning. I didn�t even have to bribe her, although she did want to buy some florist�s wire to insert in her Twilek lekku which are part of the costume she is making for this birthday party coming up. We never did find florist�s wire, and I ended up coming up with a better solution to her problem anyway (the lekku stuck out straight behind her head in a gravity-defying feat), cutting wedges out of the batting stuffing the baby tights and sewing the legs into the right shape.

Our first stop was the garage where I showed our garagiste the place where the fender is missing from the front of our car. The Subaru Outback front bumper has a small removable portion which hides the ring that a tow truck would utilize in towing. Somewhere along the line, ours got pulled out, likely when we were brushing up against a too-high curb, as the bumper section adjacent to the missing portion is rather badly scratched. The good news is that the piece itself is relatively cheap ($35.00), but it comes in black, and the paint for it is quite expensive ($40.00), which seems rather ridiculous. It�s not really all that important, but it�s a nice-looking vehicle and it would be nice to keep it nice looking as long as we can. As I said to my garagiste, right now it looks like a man with a front tooth blacked out or missing.

Our next stop was Le V�g�tarien on Blvd. Jacques-Cartier to buy edamame. We bought lots of stuff, but no frozen fresh soya beans. They did have a special on coloured peppers, a beautiful rainbow assortment of red, orange, yellow, purple, and green, as well as one labeled �lilas� which was a very pale yellow, almost white. The latter were a dollar more a pound than the other colours, so I bought one each of red, yellow and orange. We bought other produce as well, but I shan�t bore you with more details.

Next we hit the regular supermarket and loaded up on the other stuff we needed. I must explain that our larder was particularly bare. We had no vegetables, either fresh or frozen, to speak of (except for tasteless roma tomatoes I had bought at Costco, which look beautiful but have the gustatory appeal of styrofoam, and some rather wilted-looking celery). There was a special on frozen whole Pacific salmon, so I bought one, an enormous fish that could be used as a murder weapon (although it won�t be) and it was rather amusing to see its tail protruding from the paper shopping bag (if given a choice, I always ask for paper) in the rearview mirror as we proceeded on our journey.

The last stop prior to home was the hardware store where I finally bit the bullet and bought a new tap for the kitchen sink. This means I have to call the plumber. Well, I have to call him anyway because my cleaning lady informed me that there is water on the floor in the basement bathroom which would appear to be coming from the cold water pipe to the sink. I also got new hinges for the toilet seat in the upstairs bathroom, drain opener, and a new sprayer head for the hose outside, the old one having been left out all winter suffering the consequences of such negligence and abuse.

Finally, I leave you with two photos. I have to agree. I do bear an uncanny resemblance to Minnie Driver.

Minnie-El�����minnie-driver



|

<~~~ * ~~~>