Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It�s not rigor mortis, I assure you.

Wednesday, May 3, 2006
7:17 p.m.
One thing I forgot to mention, my legs are stiff in very unexpected places following Little Princess� and my attempt at running on Monday. It is the upper thighs, just below where my legs meet my crotch, that are on fire everytime I walk, and I haven�t stopped walking just because of some stiffness. Now, granted, it might not be the running, but the belly dancing that caused that particular affliction, but it hurts like hell.

We had our first UpIands spring concert rehearsal last night in the classroom at the music department. Except for one tenor (Vlad�s son) there were no men for the first hour, so we ladies (and one tenor) went through the repertoire and learned our parts with Vlad banging away on the piano. These are King Singers arrangements of BeatIes� tunes and they�re not easy. The sopranos don�t always have the melody, which is a refreshing change. Vlad kept saying really irrelevant things like �this has to be really soft here� and �try to get a good blend� when when we�re all just struggling to find our notes in the crunchy, often chromatic harmonies. That�s something you worry about after people know what notes and rhythms they�re singing, not when they�re sightreading. I can�t help but feel that she�s always directing these remarks at me. Anyway, later in the evening the other tenor and our low bass showed up and we went through everything again. SH had a terrible headache (she gets nauseated from them, poor girl) and just wanted to go, and my eyes were drying out so that my contact lenses were getting very uncomfortable, so it was a great relief when we finally broke it up for the night.

Little Princess somehow coerced me into helping her on her Twilek costume. We walked into town to the bank and then to the dollar store where she bought shoelaces. Once home I was sewing vinyl on the sewing maching (I�d already bought special needles for leather) to make her headband and ear flaps. I don�t remember my own mom putting this much work into any project of mine, ever. She probably doesn�t remember either, but for very different reasons.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>