Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Rats! Foiled again!

Sunday, Nov. 29, 2009
3:41 p.m.
Disappointment strikes again. Why me? It seems so unfair.

Last night I couldn’t get into the play, again, as it was sold out for the fifth night in a row. That’s great for the students; it’s lousy for me. So instead I went to the concert in the large theatre where a string quartet was playing French music. I listened to the Ravel quartet and a piano piece by Debussy, then decided I really didn’t want to stay for the second half, which was the Fauré quartet. I wandered over to the music department where the students were setting up for a cabaret. I left there just after 11:00 p.m., after my friend Ed performed. If he hadn’t been playing, I would have left a lot earlier.

Today there was a retirement luncheon for my friend Patsy at the posh auberge a half-hour drive south of here. The slide librarian has been planning it for weeks and it was supposed to be a surprise, but somehow Patsy figured it out. She just didn’t know who was coming.

Anyway, lunch wasn’t served until 1:30 and Hubby and I had to leave at 2:30 so that we could make it back to town for a 3:00 rehearsal with the French hornist with whom I am performing next February. So while we got to hear one speech, we missed the presentation of the gift and dessert.

We got to the department and I rushed into the hall, only to find a student sitting at the piano, in the dark, and no French horn. I was extremely disappointed.

I called RJ who apologized profusely. He and his accompanist had shown up at 1 p.m. and couldn’t get into the building. When he approached security, they said that he wasn’t on any lists they had (even though he is a registered music tutor in the department), nor did the hall appear to be booked. I know it was, because I had discussed it with the secretary to find out the exact time. So RJ and his accompanist went their separate ways.

So I didn’t get my cake, nor did I get to rehearse. Disappointed? Rather.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>