Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Winter has arrived.

Saturday, Nov. 28, 2009
1:26 p.m.
Life is fraught with disappointment. Always. I have made it a point to have no expectations because then I can’t have them dashed. Hubby, as I pointed out to him last night, is the perennial pessimist, probably so that when good things happen, he is pleasantly surprised.

On Thursday, on schedule, I sent the bundled parts and score as pdf files (which apparently stands for portable document format) to the symphony, along with my bill. I then breathed a huge sigh of relief. (Somewhere in all this was a long telephone conversation with the librarian wherein he told me that if I wanted it, he could supply me with lots of copying work. I said I’d think about it.) I taught two lessons and then accompanied Hubby to the campus bar where the jazz ensembles were entertaining for happy hour, and we had a beer and got our picture taken in front of a faux fire to raise money for some student cause.

When we got home, there was a message on the answering machine from the librarian who had “issues” with some things in the score and parts. He had also sent an email delineating exactly what these were.

Here is where the disappointment part comes in. One of the problems had to do with several measures in the score where the narrator is speaking, and the conductor has to cue certain players to play “hits” between speeches. Some of the players had their rests notated one way, and some another. The librarian felt that this would be very confusing for the players who were not playing, and he is right. We should have thought about that.

So yesterday and today was spent correcting the score and the parts. There were other issues as well, and these were taken care of at the same time.

Last night our Serbian violist friend played a concert at the music department. The second half was devoted to Hubby’s music, and she just nailed both pieces. It was wonderful. The rain that had been falling for two days turned to snow as we milled around in the lobby afterward, and there is still a light dusting of it on the ground, even after the temperature rose and more rain fell. It really feels as though winter has arrived.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>