Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Origin of the Specious

Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2009
8:51 p.m.
I am still slogging away at the music copying business. The parts have been extracted, printed, and the first corrections to them made, the ones where I also catch errors that were missed in the initial proofreading of the score. Shortly I will embark on the second corrections which are, thankfully, fewer than the first. At this rate, we may just get the performance materials sent off on time. I shall not breathe a sigh of relief until it actually happens, though.

I was working away this morning when I heard meows. They were too loud to be coming from outside, so I got out of my chair and descended one flight of stairs to the second floor where I espied Suzie on his way into the bathroom. I picked him up, cuddled him, and carried him outside where I left him on the front porch, then went in search of my cleaning lady whom I found in the garage gathering up recyclables to put in the bin for tomorrow’s pickup. She had left the doors to both the garage and the mud room open and had simply not seen the little rascal slip past her into the house. As I stood there telling her about our recent visitor, the little guy showed up again and tried to get by me. I was too quick for him, though, and carried him back outside. Such tenacity!

However, since I have very little else to report, I would like to direct you to the blog of my firstborn, a child of such virtues and other endearing characteristics that I can only say I accomplished what I set out to do when I took it upon myself (with some help from my husband) to make babies. This Ph.D. student in astrophysics at one of Canada’s premiere universities normally writes about knitting and crocheting, two of her recent passions, hence the name of the blog: Off the Hook Astronomy. In this particular entry, however, she is much more scholarly. I shan’t give any more away, as her words are awesome in their own right.

Take it away, Little Princess!



|

<~~~ * ~~~>