Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

C-c-c-c-cold and quizzical

Friday, Jan. 28, 2005
7:03 p.m.
The car did not, in fact, start this morning, but no one really expected it to, since the temperature was -25�C when Hubby tried to coax it to life. He found a very long extension cord, the 50' cord that buildings and grounds uses for the electric lawn mower, and added yet another one to that, and plugged in the car, advising security that if they wanted to see the car off the university campus, they wouldn�t make a big deal about the electricity being �stolen� in this manner. (Kevin O�s car has been sitting there for almost a week, unable to start. Old cars simply do not like winter weather.) I paid for my NYC trip ($310 Canadian for bus to and from and three nights at the YMCA [a private room yet], not a bad deal) before returning home and tending the fire.

We are heading out soon to Vlad�s solo piano recital, but I have time to do the quizz lifted from harri3tspy�s diary today.

Using Mapquest, how many miles is it from your house to your parents� house?

I�m really sorry, but I can�t figure out how to use Mapquest for that function. However, I know from setting the �trip� on all our various voyages to and from that it is exactly 714 km. from door to door.

Google your first and last name, in quotes. How many results were found?

For my maiden name (which is the only one I use) 27 entries. For my married name, 1,470.

What room in your house is too small?

The reading room, which contains an upright piano, four bookcases, a desk on which is this computer (iMac G3), another small table on which is a printer and scanner, several potted plants and lots of boxes and junk.

What room is too large?

The attic. In the original plans it was supposed to be two separate rooms. Our contractor convinced us it would be really neat as one open space, which it really is, except that when Hubby and I are working at opposite ends, we disturb each other with our noise.

Name of your third grade teacher:

I didn�t remember this, but I have my elementary school report cards, so I looked it up. My grade three teacher was Mrs. Siggner, and apart from remembering that that was her name, due to the interesting spelling thereof, I don�t remember anything else at all about her.

How much money did you make at your first job?

I don�t remember that either. I did a very small amount of babysitting when I was a teenager, so it would not have been very much. My first real job was working in the credit department of the now-defunct Simpson�s in downtown Toronto as Christmas help. I think I made about $4.00 an hour.

Favourite doughnut:

Tim Horton�s raised chocolate, but like harri3tspy, I hardly ever eat doughnuts.

Name(s) of your next door neighbor(s):

Martin and Erin, but they have just sold their house. It�s just as well, I never spoke to them anyway, except Buddy Boy did babysit their kids once.

Genre of music you can�t stand:

That would be country western and Tibetan temple chant.

Last thing bid on on ebay:

I have never bid on ebay.

How much cash is in your wallet?

Probably $60 to $80. That�s Canadian money which, according to coldandgray, is just play money anyway.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>