Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A rather disjointed entry.

Thursday, Jan. 27, 2005
9:48 p.m.
Two of my three students cancelled due to illness today, which meant that I ended up having time to practise. Unfortunately, I was so dehydrated, even with a cup of water within constant reach, that I had to give up after only an hour. Damn this cold!

The Latin test ended up being a breeze. I thought Patsy was going to start making them harder since I told her I found them too easy. I guess not. Well, actually, some of my classmates were groaning afterwards, so maybe it was more difficult. We started translating our children�s books. Laurel and I are working together on The Diary of a W0mbat, which is absolutely adorable, and we�ve started by making lists of the days of the week and the other repetitive activities that the wombat protagonist undertakes throughout the book. As you can tell, I have still not found those children�s books I was looking for, although I did find some that I wasn�t.

And speaking of cold, it is still frigid outside. Hubby couldn�t get the Volvo started after school, so it is still there, and we will head out tomorrow morning in the hopes that we can get it going. If not, we�ll get it towed to the garage where Normand can, hopefully, work his magic so that it responds better to a turned key in the ignition. Our lives are so crazy right now, what with my evening activities and Buddy Boy�s play rehearsals and the kids� karate, that we really need two cars.

We picked Buddy Boy up from the high school on our way home. It was -21�C out and we saw kids coming out from playing basketball, dressed still in shorts and running shoes and totally improper outer clothing. Crazy. I headed indoors looking for our son, who was taking his time coming out, and I was greeted upon entering the auditorium by a lovely doggie who decided he liked the smell of the wolf trim on my Kanuck coat. I�m not too happy myself about that strip of fur edging my parka, but it keeps the wind out.

A girl in choir, a not-bad clarinettist but otherwise a very annoying specimen of music student who happened to be sitting next to me, noticed that I was wearing leather pants today (a mistake in this kind of weather) and, knowing that I was also a vegetarian, made some comment about not eating animals but wearing them instead. I asked if she wore leather, shoes even, and she said no. Her reason for being a vegetarian is that she doesn�t want to be personally responsible for the death of animals. So I asked her if she consumed dairy products, which she did, and I informed her that in order for a cow to produce milk, it first has to be made pregnant. Then her offspring, especially if it is a bull calf, is generally slaughtered for veal and she is milked until she stops lactating and the process begins anew. She was unaware that by consuming dairy products she is contributing to the death of new-born calves. She was pretty sad about that.

Anyway, I explained that I do not eat meat mainly for health reasons, but since people do eat meat, and all my vegetarian ways will not change that, I see nothing wrong with using a by-product of meat production, i.e. leather, as a way of making sure that the rest of the animal does not go to waste. She could understand that argument, since it is sort of ecological. For myself, I really don�t have any good reasons for not eating meat but for wearing leather. I like leather. But the wolf fur on my hood is another matter altogether.


from harri3tspy :

First, that children�s book translation assignment sounds like such a great idea. I�ve been slaving away at Wheelock in preparation for my exam next month and it is just no fun at all. I am jealous. Second, I am completely with you on the clothing issue. Yesterday it was 12 degrees Farenheit and I passed a girl walking home from school in jeans and a camisole that didn�t cover her belly. Over it she wore a thin corduroy jacket that wasn�t even buttoned. No hat, no gloves of course. Most mysteriously, she was talking on her cell phone and didn�t seem to be bothered by the cold at all. Perhaps the new generation is merely biologically superior in its cold processing abilities. Then again, they�re probably just nuts and will wipe out the human race in a pneumonia epidemic.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>