Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Bullet points:

Monday, Oct. 27, 2008
10:18 p.m.
♥ I took the Subaru in early to the garage to have the snow tires put on and the oil and filters changed.

♣ Hubby took the Volvo to a different garage to have the flat mended, reinflated and reinstalled and the spare returned to the trunk and I brought him home in the courtesy car (also a Volvo) from the first garage.

♠ I put on a load of laundry.

♦ Because I was the only one authorized to drive the courtesy car and because both our cars were in separate garages, I ended up being Hubby’s chauffeur, taking him to the university to pick up and drop off stuff, and then later to the recording engineer’s place to do the same.

♥ At 12:30 I arrived at the Captain to meet Ed for phò, only to find the doors locked. So I went to the bank to get money from the titless teller and noticed balloons and flowers on the desk of the receptionist. After working for the bank for God-knows-how-long, Margaret is finally retiring. I gave her a big hug, which I think surprised and delighted her, and then I left, still looking for Ed. I found him walking towards me on the sidewalk, apologizing profusely for being tardy, as his class let out late, and I told him the bad news, that there would be no phò for us. We decided instead to split a vegetarian pad thai at Pizzaville, so that is exactly what we did.

♣ I wasn’t meeting my student until 2:30, so at 1:30 I drove to the jeweler’s to get a new battery for my watch and one for one of Hubby’s watches as well as his metronome. It turned out that my watch didn’t need a new battery, that there was something else wrong with it, and as it’s still under warranty, I left it there and the proprietor lent me a watch to wear while it is being repaired and/or replaced. While I was waiting, two men - father and son - came into the shop looking for wedding rings. The son was a little aghast at the prices and the father said, “Divorce is a lot more expensive.”

♠ I hurried to the university (the stint at the jeweler’s took longer than I’d hoped or dreamed) and discovered that my student would not be coming for his lesson. There was a note on the piano apologizing.

♦ I returned home (it was raining by now after being a glorious morning) and Hubby told me the Subaru was ready, but he wanted me to drive him to a meeting at the university. His meeting ended up being cancelled so I just drove to the garage.

♥ When I got back, Hubby said, “Let’s go pick up the Volvo. It’s ready.” I put my chauffeur’s hat back on and drove him to his garage where he got the second car and then went grocery shopping and I came back home. We’re back to being a two-car family again.

♣ I made supper. We ate it.

♠ Hubby went to a meeting and I started getting ready for my trip tomorrow. Then I got waylaid and played games on the computer until he got home. Oh wait, he’s been home for a while and I’m still at the computer. I’m a bad monkey.

I leave tomorrow for a week or more to meet my Israeli brother at our ancestral home for the purpose of emptying it in preparation for its sale. I will be driving all by my lonesome the eight hours it takes to get there, and then I will be returning sometime in the middle of next week with my brother so he can chill at our house. Wish me luck.

This is what I saw in the backyard today:

DSC04218



|

<~~~ * ~~~>