Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Counting down

Sunday, Oct. 26, 2008
7:39 p.m.
It was such a lovely day today that it was a pity to spend it indoors. It would have been perfect for raking leaves, for example, or going for a walk on the bike path or any outside activity whatsoever, except I didn’t do any of those things.

Instead I took a very long bath this morning (with bubbles, of course) and went to a piano trio concert this afternoon. I had forgotten how much I enjoy going to classical music concerts. This is, after all, what I do, and yet lately (apart from the symphony last month) I have attended very few of them.

The violinist is a friend of ours, someone who had commissioned Hubby to write a couple of pieces for him and subsequently recorded a CD of his œuvre which went on to win two prestigious awards. We hadn’t seen him in quite some time. He got married and showed us pictures of his brand new baby boy. So many people we know are having babies just when we are now empty nesters. It could almost be ironic.

There was a small reception in the lobby afterwards and the responsable for the theatre forced a second glass of wine on me so she could clean off the tables. I am still feeling the effects. The instructions that came with my anti-inflammatory said that I wasn’t to take any other analgesics concurrent with it; it said nothing about alcohol. Ha ha!




|

<~~~ * ~~~>