Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Man on Wire

Saturday, Oct. 25, 2008
9:28 p.m.
I was late for choir practice this morning. But it’s all right because they were just warming up when I got there. I had the scooper to my right and I apologized to the girl on my left for singing flat constantly. Gah! It was driving me crazy! Then Herr Doktor Professor stamps his feet and my jaw immediately tightens up when he does that and the flat got flatter. Oh, and at the break I ate way too many Tim bits which means I eschewed lunch when I got home.

After supper Hubby and I went to see the documentary about the guy who crossed between the Twin Towers on a tightrope in 1974. That’s the year I graduated from high school. It was fascinating. Most of the interviewees spoke English, except for two who spoke only French. The English was all subtitled in French, but the French was not subtitled in English, which meant we had to pay attention. For the most part we got it.

It’s miserable out, raining, blowing, and it looks like there will be no leaf raking tomorrow. Pity. I called my mom today, the first time I’ve spoken to her in two weeks, and she sounded pretty good. She knows that her memory is bad, but it ceases to bother her now. I had to remind her where I live, how long I’ve lived here, and told her that I am coming to town to help my brothers clear out her house prior to selling it. She asked which house, and I told her, and she said, “Isn’t there another house to sell as well?” I said that there wasn’t, but which house was she thinking of? She was talking about her parents’ house, the one she grew up in. I told her it had been sold long ago and they had bought a different house, the one my brother now lives in, in fact. She had totally lost that part of the past. Sigh.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>