Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No more costume parties, please!

Sunday, Oct. 28, 2007
8:50 a.m.
I am hung over. Well, I have a headache and my mouth is dry and I drank a litre of beer last night, so I guess that means I’m hung over.

A computer sciences prof and his conjoint had a party at their place last night, a costume party, and the get-ups were amazing. I reprised my pirate costume with a few changes (Little Princes, who went as a Twilek, lent me her tricorne and I eschewed the eye patch, it being too difficult to see while wearing) and Hubby found his Death robe (his standby) and wore that. Before heading out he asked me to put some dark makeup around his eyes, but he was so weirded out about anything coming close to them that he kept backing off as I approached with my brush. I finally got some black eyeshadow in his eye sockets and brushed talcum powder all over his normally ruddy complexion and his beard, and he looked pretty ghastly.

The other costumes were incredible. Our hostess was dressed as a c.dificile bacterium (or is it a virus methinks?) and her husband like a bottle of pills. Very elaborate. There was a toreador on crutches, a fly, a couple of witches, and various other costumes which I find I don’t have the vocabulary to describe. At least, not this morning. The funniest was a student of ours who arrived on the arm of his roommate (who was the invited guest--he was incredibly surprised and pleased to see us there). He was wearing a dress (his roommate’s) and had done his long curly hair in a little bun at his nape, and had on a half-mask that matched his own eyes so closely it was uncanny. His roommate was wearing an enormous dress made of sweaters which six people could fit into with heads poking out, and I got a picture (it’s still in my camera, sorry) of five people wearing it.

There were guitars being played, and Hubby ended up getting a-hold of one, and eventually I started singing jazz standards. It was fun. I danced a bit too, although I had to keep grabbing different people for partners since my own partner was playing guitar. You know what they say about musicians never getting to dance.

People had brought different finger foods, the most aptly named being little wieners with cream cheese “fingernails” which looked exactly like severed fingers. I ate way too many strawberry twizzlers and then got into the Tootsie Rolls after the other ran out. Oh, right, and the litre of beer. We stopped at the supermarket before going over and picked up several 500 ml. bottles of the Lion’s blueberry and watermelon beer, which was very good. I had two of them over the course of the evening and was definitely sober enough to drive home, but I’m paying for it as we speak. Ouch.

I think the most interesting thing that happened was how the hostess recognized me immediately (I didn’t know her at all, never having actually met before and the fact that she was in greenface and dressed in this business of foam and hairy balloons and stuff), knew my name, and then introduced herself. She had worked at the health food store in town 18 years ago and I was a very regular customer. Apparently she had grown quite fond of me, and I of her, and when she left to go elsewhere, I made a point of going to say goodbye on her last day. But she had gone off to do an errand and wasn’t there, and so we never did say farewell, and she had felt very bad about that. I sort of remember this, it was a long time ago now, but I don’t remember her at all. Maybe if I saw her out of costume I would. However, I thought it was funny that she would recognize me, dressed as I was as a pirate, not having seen me in almost two decades, and remember all this.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>