Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

...and the band played on!

Saturday, Oct. 27, 2007
12:16 a.m.
I have just returned from an evening full of music, and feel an update is necessary to my last post. First off, Hubby and I went to the concert at the music department, a string quartet of our acquaintance which played a rather eclectic programme, Vivier, Stiegler and Brahms. The Stiegler (a composer I had never heard of, who apparently has two careers as a composer and a medical practitioner in Germany, and who composed this particular work for this particular ensemble) was very strange and not altogether enjoyable. There were many rolling-of-the-eyes moments where I rolled my eyes and wished it would stop. The Brahms was rough sounding and, whereas that doesn’t really matter when one is playing new music with lots of strange timbres, it makes a great deal of difference in a piece of the classical and hence well-known repertoire. However, the cellist and her husband the violinist are quasi-friends of ours, and I would never say this to their faces. But they don’t read my diary (I hope) and hence this is allowable.

Following this, we made our way to the Lion where we purchased beer and waited while the band mentioned in the previous post went through their sound check. They didn’t start to play until almost 11 p.m. and were very, extremely, overwhelmingly LOUD. It is for this reason (as in last night’s post) that I carry ear plugs with me at all times (sort of like my Swiss Army knife, actually, only I wouldn’t put that in my ears), which made the evening bearable. Not only could I listen without being injured, but I could actually enjoy the ambience. Not so my husband and our daughter and Ed who arrived after their own band had finished its gig for the night. Ed was holding his pinnae closed at one point and we were all ready to leave by the time they were done their first set. But they were very good. Just turn down the volume on all of them and it would have been a lot more enjoyable.

And here ends the lesson.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>