Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Darn, another missed moment of my life.

Friday, Oct. 26, 2007
7:13 p.m.
My lunch date never showed and I ended up going to a demonstration by the Celtic fiddler that Ms. Piano arranged for her college class, except that he and his guitarist were a half-hour late arriving, so their session was seriously curtailed. He is, however, incredible, and I will be going tonight to hear his band play at the Lion. I don’t just mean incredible, I mean incredible! The sound clips on that site don’t begin to do his talent justice.

Afterwards, hungry for lack of meeting B. for lunch, Little Princess and I went to the Captain for phò, which was delicious as always. The waitress was incredibly cute and nice and was wearing a skirt that I wanted. I must find a pattern and make one, since it is doubtful I will find one like it around here. She bought it in NYC.

Afterwards we walked partway home, being picked up by Daddoo just as we crossed the river, and after a cup of tea, he and I stacked the two cords of firewood that were delivered yesterday afternoon. Little Princess eventually came and joined us, and we now have combustibles for the winter, both in the garage and the woodshed.

I dashed off an email to my friend who stood me up:

At Centennial Theatre I waited
Precisely at noon, as prestated;
     But you didn’t show
     So I went to get phò
With my daughter, to whom I’m related.

I got this email from him just a little while ago:
...and I thought you stood me up! I thought the time was supposed to be 11:30, and I waited for a half hour before driving away, dejected, and proceeded to drown my sorrows at the book sale at the United Church, which was a pretty good thing to do.

Sorry about the miscommunication. I really thought you had forgotten! Darn, another missed moment of my life. We’ll re-schedule, to be sure. And confirm the time in writing on e-mail.

I’m glad you had a good lunch though. I came home, had a sandwich, and a banana muffin, and an apple.

See ya Wednesday, B.

These things happen. Sigh.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>