Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Baby, I’m the same as you!

Sunday, Jan. 25, 2009
3:59 p.m.
There have been lots and lots of birds at the feeder in this cold weather, voraciously eating the sunflower seeds I fill it with. The nuthatch hasn’t been back, but we’ve had an inundation of pine siskins, and this morning I saw a tree sparrow. They all seem to coexist quite peacefully: chickadees, sparrows, goldfinches and cardinals, until the bluejay arrives. Then everyone scatters. He’s enormous in comparison, and a real pig. There are always lots of seeds on the deck for the squirrel and the wee birds who gather to peck at them.

DSC04345

Our Serbian violist was in town playing with the orchestra, and we picked her up after her rehearsal to take her out for dinner before the concert. She surprised us by grabbing the check from the waiter and insisting on taking us out to dinner in gratitude for all the things we have done for her. Hubby really did give her an argument. He hates to have others pay the bill, but I have told him so many times that by always paying the shot, he is taking away from someone else the pleasure that he gets from being the sugar daddy. I know that next time she is here, he will go out of his way to do something nice for her.

We stayed for a short while at the reception after the concert and I started chatting with the first horn player. He teaches at the private school on our side of the river, and was talking about putting in an application to do a recital on our music department concert series but couldn’t think of how to round out the programme. I said, maybe rather presumptuously, that if he asked me really nicely, I would sing Auf dem Strom with him. He thought that was a great idea. I guess pushing myself in people’s faces does work. I should do it more often.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>