Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I ain’t goin’ down that long and lonesome road all by myself.

Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2009
10:38 p.m.
Tonight was the third rehearsal for the blues concert, the first with me attending. We went through most of the pieces I sing, and apart from not knowing some of them well enough because I’m trying to learn them off the recordings, it went quite well. Hubby was really rather impressed with my singing. I feel like I have to prove to him that I am good, even if I’m not as dedicated as he would like me to be. Anyway, I also realize where my weaknesses are and what I have to work on.

It’s interesting. When I was younger, before I got my musical training, I used to learn tunes from recordings all the time and never thought anything of it. Now I need the charts. All that Mozart and Schubert and Fauré ruined me for aural memorization. I made a chart from one of the songs by transcribing it from the recording. But I haven’t done that with the others, and there’s one in particular that I’m finding quite difficult. This one:

Now if only I could play guitar like she does.

We have been dumped on as well, and driving back from the rehearsal was a mite treacherous. Our street has been plowed, but our driveway is deep with snow. Hubby nearly hit the Volvo, and then barely missed the garage doorway as we entered it. All-wheel drive is good, but it’s not a perfect science yet.




|

<~~~ * ~~~>