Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The day after

Saturday, Jan. 24, 2009
12:28 p.m.
My birthday was delightful, especially as Hubby gave up a composing day to be at my beck and call. I got presents, cake, afternoon delight, and dinner at my favourite Italian restaurant. I spoke to both my kids and my mom. My daughter called me and I called the other two: my son because his cellphone plan allows him unlimited free incoming calls, but charges him an arm and a leg for outgoing long-distance calls; and my mother because I knew she wouldn’t remember. An hour or so after our conversation, she called me back wondering if it was my brother’s birthday, and I had to remind her that it was mine. When Hubby and I got back from dinner, before going out to the second half of Vlad’s piano duo concert, she called again, upset because she had had Buddy Boy over for dinner and realized that she hadn’t done the dishes. I reminded her, oh so gently, that she had no dishes to do because they had eaten in the dining room of the residence where she lives.

Apropos my entry of a few days ago, I received another affirmation that I have touched people’s lives in some small way. I play an online game that is rather addictive, although the actual playing of it is limited to how many turns you can take in a day. Players in the game can belong to a “clan”, the advantage of which is access to certain game amenities and social interaction. There are other chat rooms, too, depending on your achievements in the game, and I tend to hang out in two: clan and one for players who have completed the cycle at least once.

Yesterday I received this message from someone in the latter:

“Dear M***e,

Once one spends some time in the insanity that is this K***m, one comes to appreciate what makes the experience worthwhile: the people. The most tangible good comes from interacting with a supportive group of people who can be technicolor awesomeness amid this sea of monochrome. Being close to such people is a sure path to enjoyment and, dear lady, I and my clanmates certainly enjoy you. All who have come into contact with you have been left with a good impression, and have enjoyed their times chatting with you.

We’d like it very much if you’d allow yourself to be surrounded by us (in number, if not in girth), so, please consider this your official invite to N***e. [This clan does not accept applications, it is by invitation only. Ed.]

We realize you’re already a member of a clan, one you may well be happy with. We wish not to cause any strife or hard feelings, and certainly understand if for some reason you’re not willing or able to join us. If that’s how it has to be, just consider this a letter of appreciation and friendship, and keep in touch.

If things work out, however, we offer you our love, a greater chance to influence and understand the game, and a clanful of diverse weirdos. And free webspace! Either way, of course, the love is yours to keep as a souvenir.

All the best,
--H***n and N***e”

I responded with the following:

“Dear H***n:

Thank you so much for the kind offer to join N***e. I am flatttered and touched by your kind words and appreciate more than I can say the thought that went into your message.

As you mentioned, I am already a member of a clan, and I am not ready yet to move on from there. Some of my clannies are actual family as well as 3D friends, so my ties there are thicker than water, so to speak.

Thank you again for the kind offer. If at any time I decide it’s time to change clans, I will ask if the offer still stands. However, at this time, I must gracefully decline.

Best,

M***e”

That, my friends, was one unlooked-for birthday present that really made my day.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>