Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

And they�re off!

Monday, Sept. 24, 2007
10:31 p.m.
I have been extremely tired all day, a nagging ache behind my eyes that isn’t really a headache, but forced me back to bed after lunch. I ended up snoozing the afternoon away, accomplishing very little, although I did get my singing teaching schedule finalized at long last. The one student I actually did contact by telephone gave me some concern, as she said that she really only wants to sing show tunes. Ulp! Sorry lady, that isn’t exactly my cup of tea. All right, I can do jazz, and I can do it reasonably well, but I absolutely hate most of the musical theatre that’s out there right now, and I have no idea what the repertoire is. If she wants to sing selections from Rent or Cats or Les Miz, she’s got another thing coming.

I did make it to belly dancing tonight, though, and was mildly disappointed to find that Lise is not teaching this class, that she’s handed it over to one of her underlings, a very nice girl named Marie-Ève who informed us right off the bat that she’s pregnant and will be getting progressively bigger as time passes. This girl is really a very fine dancer, but as a teacher she’s lacking.

She started teaching us a choreography for a dance done with the veil and is quite inexact about steps, omitting important details like if it’s the right hip or the left that is twisted, and other points. She also wastes a lot of time between exercises. Perhaps she’ll improve with time. In the meantime, I should really practise as I’ll forget all this by tomorrow.

Which brings me to tomorrow: The piece Hubby wrote for the CBC celebration of the 75th birthday of a certain dead composer is being premiered tomorrow night in the city of my birth, so we are leaving at the crack of dawn (yawn) to drive there. We will meet Buddy Boy at my mom’s, plus Hubby’s parents and his brother, and we will take the gantzah mishpocheh down to the theatre named for the dead composer to hear a concert of works composed for the occasion.

A particular CBC employee, who used to have his own show which specialized in new music, called this afternoon looking for Hubby, waking me up. When he finally got to talk to him, he confessed that I sounded rather pissed off, or something along those lines. He promised Hubby he would make it up to me at the reception prior to the concert at 6:30. So I guess we can’t be late.

Then we leave at the crack of dawn on Wednesday to drive back to the city of my son’s birth so I can go to writing group that night. There are some things you just don’t mess with, and that’s one of them.

So I shall not see you tomorrow. But I’ll let you know how the concert went when I return. Toodles!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>