Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Home again, home again, jiggety jog.

Thursday, Sept. 27, 2007
11:01 p.m.
Hello friends. I was away, but now I’m back. In fact, I have been back for quite some time, but just didn’t feel like writing a diary entry. Now I do.

First of all, the concert went really well. Ten composers were commissioned to write ten piano solos commemorating the particular pianist whose 75th birthday it would have been had he lived that long. They were performed in a concert hall bearing his name and broadcast live-to-air “from coast to coast to coast” as the host of the show kept telling us. I turned to my brother-in-law and wondered if he perhaps meant the Atlantic, Pacific and Arctic Ocean coasts, because otherwise it made no sense whatsoever. Hubby’s piece went very well, and if you go to this particular site, you can see a photograph taken at the end of the concert (my husband is the third from the right) and you can also listen to all the pieces played (Hubby’s is the ninth down the list).

We partied down a bit with his parents and kid brother, my mother and Buddy Boy, and afterwards we drove Buddy Boy back to his residence, taking my nephew (who is visiting from Israel) for the ride and ended up taking the boys out to a sports bar across the street from the university where we had beer and nachos. My nephew had never had nachos before. I think Israel needs to learn about Mexican food, no?

We arrived back in L’ville in the late afternoon, in time to make supper and for me to go to writing group last night. Today I picked up our Volvo from the shop and paid a whopping big bill for the repairs. It was over $1,000. My mechanic suggested it was time we thought about getting rid of it. I never thought I’d hear him say it, and it was in French, so I may have misunderstood, but the fact remains that this car is becoming a black hole where our bank account is concerned.

I also met two of my new students today for the first time, both beginners, and tonight I accompanied Little Princess and her BF to see Night C of the student written/directed/produced plays that go on every fall. There were some good ones. Now I’m ready for bed. ’Night!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>