Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

To NYC or not to NYC, that is the question?

Tuesday, Jan. 25, 2005
8:45 a.m.
A little over two years ago I went on a trip to NYC organized by the liberal arts and fine arts departments. It was actually quite a fun excursion, but there were enough disturbing occurrences to discourage me from ever going on it again (it�s an annual event).

Firstly, the bus driver didn�t seem to know which direction the American border was and we arrived at our destination quite late (the liberal arts prof was a little antsy since his class had tickets to the opera that night). Secondly we stayed at the YMCA, a venerable institution which has to its credit that it is in the thick of things and a close walk to practically everything an artistic-minded tourist would want to visit in NYC, but which caused me two sleepless nights because the walls are paper thin and there was a crazy woman in the room next to mine (I shared with our slide librarian who slept through it on the first night and thought that I was going crazy) who screamed at what I thought was an imaginary roommate all night in the most horrible grating voice. I saw this woman, and it turned out that she lived with a little old man whose voice was practically inaudible. It was horrible. Thirdly, we returned home in a blinding snowstorm, arriving at Bushop�s at 3 a.m.

On the plus side, I got to see the Cloisters, an absolutely fabulous but out-of-the way medieval reconstruction at the end of NYC�s subway line. I visited the Museum of Natural History and Metropolitan Museum of Art, and I got to have lunch with a dear friend from university days who lives in Greenwich Village and paints (pictures, not houses), and Willa and I walked briskly all over the place, enjoying the tulips blooming in Central Park and the big-city ambience.

However, after my terrificly bad experience at the Y, I promised myself that I would never do this trip again. Ever. I�m a grownup, I can afford to stay in a real hotel, and there is no reason why I should have to put up with that kind of thing again. The trip is once more looming for March. My friend the art prof is after me every time I see him to sign up. So far I have refused. Then teranika mentioned that we would need to discuss the subject of a few entries back over coffee to do it any kind of justice and a lightbulb when on in my dimly-lit brain. She lives in NYC. I have this opportunity to go to NYC at a reasonable price, my time being my own to do with as I wish, the only restriction imposed on me that I be back on the bus when it returns to the Great White North.

Then, upon further reflection, I remembered that I have a cousin (a second cousin, but blood is still thicker than water) who lives in Greenwich Village and whom I have not seen since 1985. Her parents live in New Jersey, and after learning of my cousin Mort�s death, I am starting to feel the call of family ties more keenly. This would be an opportunity to visit my family as well. Then there is my friend the painter and his wife and their two daughters whom I have never met. This trip to NYC is starting to look better all the time.

The reason I bring it up here, however, is that I am a little trepidatious about visiting someone I have only met on paper (virtual paper at that), even if it is for a coffee and biscotti, and am publicily airing my dilemma so that everything is out in the open. I am not yet 100% sure of the dates for the trip, but I will have that information before the day�s end. If I decide to go, and if you live in NYC or the area and have any desire to meet me and lift the shroud of mystery from my digital disguise, or to have a coffee, anyway, please let me know. Your desire may affect my decision.


from eggsaucted :

In college I met one of my chat buddies, we ended up being good friends for years. Of course we met for the first time in neutral public location, but the conversation was easy and we frequently got together when I was in town. I have another very close friend who I talk to on the phone almost daily who I met through my diary, so I'm all for it. If you ever come to Chicago, I have an ID that gets me free tickets to all the Museums and I love coffee and biscotti!

from krugerpak007 :

In SA now, I met 2 of my diary buddies and both experiences were great. We knew so much about each other and had so much to talk about it was really good experiences both times. So think about it! xoxoxo Kathy

|

<~~~ * ~~~>