Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I took two extra-strength acetaminophen because a fire was in my head.

Sunday, Jan. 23, 2005
9:52 p.m.
Thanks to all of you for leaving me birthday wishes. You are amazing! My birthday was actually pretty good, considering my rapid recovery from that sore throat was just a teaser, since I now feel like I�m getting sick in earnest. But more on that in a moment.

Firstly, Hubby and I had a rehearsal this afternoon with our oboist for the new music concert on February 5. We rehearsed two compositions we last performed together 11 years ago, according to �tienne, one a trio for soprano, oboe and classical guitar, and the other a duet for soprano and oboe. They both went very well after a few runthroughs, and we�ll get together and do it again next Saturday. Then Hubby and I went home in the glorious sunshine and rehearsed the song for soprano and guitar, which also went well, considering we hadn�t played it together in a very long time.

We had a delicious dinner at Da Toni, and it turned out that our waiter Patrick was celebrating his birthday as well, so we exchanged best wishes. I had a glass of 10-year-old Pinot Charente as a prelude to my meal, and it was lovely. When the SAQ is no longer on strike I will have to obtain some for my private stash. Back at home we had birthday cake and I got to unwrap presents. I now have an incredible collection of science fiction books to read, as well as four scented candles to burn and three coupons for the vacuuming of Buddy Boy�s bedroom floor to redeem.

Hubby and I then watched Startrek: Enterprise (the show that didn�t get taped on Friday) and he and Buddy Boy forwent their beloved Simpsons and Arrested Development for my birthday pleasure. Then we started watching Austin Power: Goldmember, but I have given up since my sinuses feel like they are on fire and the illness I thought I had been spared is now upon me. I have to teach tomorrow and rehearse with France, though, and I promised Patsy that I would be at belly dancing, so an early bedtime is in order.

Once again, I am so overwhelmed with all your good wishes. Thanks muchly.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com


from zitagsd :

Happy birthday elgan! Here�s hoping you whoop it up today!!! Kiss, hug...:)

from j-leem :

Hey little lady, just came by to shine some warm tropical goodness your way and here I�ll throw in some honey & lemon tea too. And uh, I read the note beneath this one saying about your birthday...when did I miss that??!!! Happy Belated Birthday!!! ? - J.

from zuzus-petals :

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! My birthday is the on 22 of September and my parents were married on the 23 of November... my mother always mixes up my birth date with her anniversary date and one or the other is invariably celebrated on the wrong date each year. She also, without any signs or symptoms of alzheimers or any other neurologic impairment, forgets my name.. each of her four children�s name has become some hybrid of at least two names from the pool that includes the names of all of her children and the names of all the family dogs. My partner, his mother invariably calls him by the name of any one of his brothers.. and before getting to his name, will also use the names of the family dogs. I say.. if your mother called you on or around your birthday and wished YOU a happy birthday (not a sibling or the family pet a happy birthday) - you're sitting pretty! So.. HAPPY BIRTHDAY and enjoy your next trip around the sun! -Zuzu

from zitagsd :

Well, what can i say...like zeusus-petals (sp?) my mom�s is on the 22nd (or 21st...? Now I forgot, perhaps 21/10/22??), and dd�s on the 23rd and ds on on the 20th, and I do get confused sometimes. (not all the same months, mind you...) I don�t think it�s alzheimers - as I have been doing this for years. I get so anxious about missing the birthday, that I send it early!!! I have now entered the correct dates for all concerned into my Yahoo Calendar....hopefully, next year you shall get it bang-on the correct date. Anyways, NOW, can I wish you a happy birthday?? PS, �merde� is in the mail!! And whoop it up today, instead..although with hubby in his bad way....?!?!

from krugerpak007 :

Wishing you a very Happy Birthday and many many more...Can I send you some Israeli music?? E-mail me your address if you would like... Have a wonderful day! xoxox Kathy

from tcklyrpharsn :

Happy Birthday, El!!! Have a great day.

from ladybug-red :

Happy Birthday Honey! I hope you have a wonderful day. Hugs to you from SC. XOXO -S

from bindyree :

Many happy returns on your birthday, and always. :-)

from saucy99 :

Happy Birthday!

from spirit-chick :

Have a happy happy birthday. I hope you have a really nice time. Take care x

from eggsaucted :

Happy New Year! (I didn't feel like going the traditional happy birthday route like everyone else!)

from dandlioneyes :

just logging onto my computer today, and am hopping on the bandwagon: happy birthday!

from time2 :

Since I don't get on during the weekend today will have to do for the birthday wish: May the new year of your life bring rain and soggy toast. happy birthday El

from coldandgray :

Happy Birthday! I thought of you while I was in your country spending all that fake money!



|

<~~~ * ~~~>