Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Tea biscuits were smeared with lemon curd and eaten with relish.

Tuesday, Jan. 25, 2005
10:47 p.m.
The dates for the NYC trip are March 9 to 12. I have already reserved my space on the bus. I hope I�m not making a mistake.

On Thursday we have a test on the passive conjugations in Latin, something for which I feel inadequately prepared, but I have tomorrow at least to study for it.

After Latin today, I joined a classmate for lunch in the cafeteria, a 35-year-old Shakespearean actress, one-time company member of the Stratford Festival Theatre, who is back in school to do a much-delayed B.A. in liberal arts. We were joined by one of her colleagues, and the discussion centered around feminism. Apparently when they would argue with their professor that a study of feminism be included in the liberal arts mandate, he countered that he would then have to include all minority groups: blacks, Jews, et cetera. I argued that that was ridiculous, all those groups comprise men and women and feminism affects us all as a doctrine that espouses equality between the sexes. I think this demonstrates a bias on the professor�s part. Actually, knowing him, I know it does.

My first student of the day is taking antibiotics for a sinus infection, but we managed nonetheless to have a full lesson. I have great hopes for this one. The second one, who had been fighting learning technique last term, has finally matured to the point where I could work on focus, support, and keeping her tongue from trying to strangle her as she sings. Amazingly, out poured a beautiful warm sound that had heretofore been hiding behind the pretty voice that was all she seemed able to produce before. Sometimes this business does offer its rewards.

Writing group tonight was amazing. I came away totally recharged. It helped that Janice fed us tea biscuits with home-made lemon curd.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>